

Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of Council

Thursday 10 October 2024

4:00 PM Yass High School Grampian Street, Yass

Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of Council held on 10 October 2024

Table of Contents

1.	Prayer		2
2.	Apologies		
3.	Declaration of Interest/Disclosures		2
4.	Reports to Council		2
4.1	Oath & Affirmation for Councillors	2	
4.2	Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor	2	
4.3	Delegation of Authority to the Mayor	3	
4.4	Casual Vacancies Within 18 Months of Last Ordinary Election	4	
4.5	Council Meeting Times	4	
4.6	Local Government NSW Annual Conference 2024	5	
4.7	Audit, Risk & Improvement Committee	5	
4.8	Regional Planning Panel - Council Members	5	

Extraordinary Council Meeting - The CEO declared the meeting open at 4.07pm.

Present

Councillors - Cecil Burgess, Kristin Butler, Adrian Cameron, David Carter, Alvaro Charry, Fleur Flanery, Jasmin Jones, Allan McGrath, and David Rothwell.

Staff present - Chief Executive Officer – Chris Berry, Director of Planning & Environment – Julie Costa, Director of Infrastructure & Assets – Nathan Cooke, Director of Corporate & Community – Lynette Safranek and Executive Support Officer – Katie Yeo.

Acknowledgement of Country

1. Prayer

2. Apologies

Nil

3. Declaration of Interest/Disclosures

Nil

4. Reports to Council

4.1 OATH & AFFIRMATION FOR COUNCILLORS

SUMMARY

The Local Government Act 1993 requires Councillors to take either an oath or an affirmation of office at or before the first meeting of the Council after the Councillor is elected.

RECOMMENDATION

That all Councillors undertake an oath or affirmation individually and the details be recorded in the Council minutes.

Councillors Burgess, Rothwell, Flanery, Cameron, Jones, McGrath and Charry undertook the Oath of Office.

Councillors Butler and Carter undertook the Affirmation of Office.

4.2 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

SUMMARY

To provide the framework for the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

RECOMMENDATION

That:

1. The method of electing the Mayor will be by Ordinary Ballot with the returning officer declaring the number of votes for each candidate.

- 2. All ballot papers be destroyed following the election.
- 3. A Deputy Mayor be elected for the same term as the Mayor and the system of election be the same as used for the election of the Mayor.
- 4. The Chief Executive Officer proceed with the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Election of Mayor

In accordance with the *Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 (Schedule 7)* the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer called for nominations for the position of Mayor. He advised that there were three nominations for the position of Mayor, being Councillors Jones, Cameron, and Carter. The Chief Executive Officer called for any further nominations. No further nominations were made.

Councillors Jones, Cameron, and Carter addressed the Council.

An election was held under by ballot vote with the following result:

Ballot One:

Councillor Jasmin Jones - 5

Councillor Adrian Cameron - 1

Councillor David Carter - 3

Councillor Adrian Cameron was eliminated.

Ballot Two:

Councillor Jasmin Jones – 5

Councillor David Carter - 4

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, declared Councillor Jasmin Jones elected as Mayor for the period 10 October 2024 to 10 October 2026.

Election of Deputy Mayor

In accordance with the *Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 (Schedule 7)* the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor. He advised that there were two nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor, being Councillors Butler and Cameron.

Councillor Adrian Cameron withdrew his nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, declared Councillor Kristin Butler elected as Deputy Mayor for the period 10 October 2024 to 10 October 2026.

4.3 DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY TO THE MAYOR

SUMMARY

Delegations of Authority are made by Councils to ensure the effective day to day operations of Council and in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1993*.

RESOLVED that Delegations to the Mayor Policy be adopted and the Instrument of Delegation to the Mayor be signed.

(McGrath/Butler) 1

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, J Jones, A McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Councillors A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry and F Flanery

Foreshadow Motion:

Council request further information so that it can discuss in further detail at the next council meeting.

Cameron

4.4 CASUAL VACANCIES WITHIN 18 MONTHS OF LAST ORDINARY ELECTION

SUMMARY

Should a casual vacancy occur during the term of Council a by-election is generally required to fill the casual vacancy. If a casual vacancy occurs within 18 months of the last Ordinary Election of Councillors, the vacancy the casual vacancy can be filled by a countback of votes cast in the last election.

RESOLVED that pursuant to s291A(1)(b) Local Government Act 1993 Council declares that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a Councillor within 18 months after the last Ordinary Election of Councillors for the Council on 14 September 2024 are filled by a countback of votes cast at that election for the office in accordance with s291A of the Act and directs the Chief Executive Officer to notify the NSW Electoral Commissioner of the Council's decision within seven days of the decision.

(McGrath/Carter) 2

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry, F Flanery, J Jones, A

McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Nil

4.5 COUNCIL MEETING TIMES

SUMMARY

To consider Council meeting times.

RESOLVED that council move into committee of the whole to discuss meeting times.

(Butler/Cameron)

RESOLVED to move back into open council

(Burgess/Rothwell)

RESOLVED that the date and time of the council meetings remain as per the current code of meeting practice.

(Carter/McGrath) 3

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry, F Flanery, J Jones, A

McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Nil

4.6 LOCAL GOVERNMENT NSW ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2024

SUMMARY

Local Government NSW (LGNSW) hold a Conference annually. This year the conference with be held from 17 to 19 November 2024, Tamworth Regional Entertainment & Conference Centre, Tamworth. The purpose of the conference is the shape the advocacy agenda for 2025 and to vote on motions presented to the conference.

Council needs to elect two voting delegates for LGNSW Conferences.

RESOLVED that Councillors Jones and Cameron to attend as voting delegates for the Local Government NSW Conferences.

(Butler/Flanery) 4

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry, F Flanery, J Jones, A

McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Nil

4.7 AUDIT, RISK & IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE

SUMMARY

To appoint one Councillor to the Audit, Risk & Improvement Committee.

RESOLVED that Councillor Carter be appointed to the Audit, Risk & Improvement Committee.

(Rothwell/Burgess) 5

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry, F Flanery, J Jones, A

McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Nil

4.8 REGIONAL PLANNING PANEL - COUNCIL MEMBERS

SUMMARY

To appoint Council members and alternate members for the Southern Regional Planning Panel.

RESOLVED that:

- 1. Council nominate Councillor Fleur Flanery as the Council member and the nominated alternate member be Councillor Allan McGrath for the Southern Regional Planning Panel.
- 2. The appointments of Scott Martin (Director Planning & Environment Goulburn Mulwaree Council) as a Council member and Ruth Ormella (Director Development & Environment, Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council) as an alternate member to the Southern Regional Planning Panel be noted

(Rothwell/Butler) 6

FOR: Councillors C Burgess, K Butler, A Cameron, D Carter, A Charry, F Flanery, J Jones, A

McGrath and D Rothwell

AGAINST: Nil

The meeting closed at 5.06pm